Scars and Bruises Part 1 of 7 (Short Story)

Today is the day I was finally done. I wanted out. I wanted out of this relationship. Aaron and I were finally going to be over. The school bell rang and I swiftly made my way to his truck.

He leaned against his truck angrily, “What did you want to talk about Alex?”

I was terrified, I had no idea how he was going to react, but this is what I wanted. “Aaron…” I started, “This isn’t working for me anymore.”

“What?” He responded walking closer to me.

I cautiously took a step back, “This relationship isn’t working…” My voice trailed off.

He grabbed my face and pulled it close to his, “Go ahead Alex. Say what you really mean.”

I was terrified and angry, “I’m…”

“Say it!” He yelled squeezing my face tighter.

“I’m breaking up with you!” I screamed.

Aaron released my face and just stared at me. “Excuse me?”

“I’m done, Aaron.” I said exhaling taking quick steps back. “We’re done Aaron.” I finished weakly.

He laughed. “Get in the truck.”

“No, I’m going home.” I said turning to start my walk home.

“You’re not going anywhere you worthless piece of shit.” He growled grabbing my ponytail and yanking it towards the ground.

My head banged against the cement. Pain surged through my head and body in an attempt to stand up. Slowly rising, I shouted, “I’m not getting in the truck.”

He laughed again then reached out to grab me, but I was just out of reach. He screamed in frustration the lunged and grabbed me by the throat. Smiling he opened the truck door. “We’re leaving. Now.” He said throwing me across the driver said of the truck. Jumping in, he started the truck and sped away.

Blood stained the passenger side window and rolled down my face. I rubbed where my head was in pain only to have my hand covered in blood.

“All I ever did was love you Alex and this is how you repay me? By dumping me? This isn’t happening, I won’t let it.”

Aaron was driving outrageously fast down the highway, “Where are we going?”

“You can’t leave me Alex.” He repeated over and over.

“Aaron! Where are we going?” I well as we took a sharp turn.

“Nobody else can have you Alex. Nobody.”

Aaron had driven to the lake on the outskirts of town. “What are you doing?”

“If I can’t you, then nobody can.” He said step on gas pedal speeding closer and closer to the dock. As soon as the trucks wheels touched the dock Aaron jumped out of the truck.

Water rushed over the windshield as the truck dove into the lake.

The truck, it just kept sinking, deeper into the lake and I just sat there. Watching the water flood into the truck. Rising higher and higher, but I didn’t care. I just sat in the seat and watched. Watch the water get higher.

Knees.

Stomach.

Chest.

Shoulders.

And now, chin.

This was how my life was going to end. Part of me knew that I was supposed to find a way out, but I just wanted it all to end. Everything. I just wanted all of it to finally end. The fear, the pain, and suffering, this was a chance for it to all to end.

I smiled at the thought as I took my last breath. I fought my instincts to continue living as I let out my last breath.

If you like what I am doing and want to support me, you can donate to me on my Patreon!

Leave a Reply

