Character Creation

 

Characters are one of the most important things in any story, but they can one of the hardest things to come up. One of the best things you could do is sit down and have a conversation with your main characters. For me I like to start off with their name.

Character’s Full Name:

Reason/Meaning for Name:

Character’s Nickname:

Reason or Story Behind Nickname:

After deciding on names and the reason for their names I like to move on to their appearance. Now for me I like to keep it brief, but this can get as detailed as you want.

Age:

How old does s/he appear?

Eye Color:

Glasses or Contacts:

Skin Tone:

Skin Type:

Shape of Face:

Distinguishing Marks:

Predominant Features:

Looks Like:

Is s/he healthy?

If not, why not:

Once I have finished decided on what my character looks like then comes the fun part, the real conversation. This is the part where I ask questions, what they like and what they don’t like.

Favorite Color and why?

Least Favorite Color and why?

Favorite Music and why?

Least Favorite Music and why?

Food:

Literature:

Expressions:

Mode of transportation:

Daredevil or cautious?

Are they the same when alone?

Good Habits:

Bad Habits:

Hobbies:

How does s/he spend a rainy/sunny day?

Characters are people too, they have things they are interests just like everyone else and as a writer it is your job to create that person. Create someone that a reader is going to love, create someone that the reader is going to hate, even create some that the reader many not know how to feel about up until the very end of your story.

Finally, give your characters opinions. Passive/malleable might seem likable to you as you write, but it’s poison to the audience.

If you like what I am doing and want to support me, you can donate to me on my Patreon!

 

Leave a Reply

